blah, blah, blah VOTE!

I strolled out of my neighbourhood advanced polling station today with a smile on my face and a kick in my step. Don’t get me wrong, I understand that my vote is essentially meaningless and that all logic tells me I shouldnt bother making the 3 block trek to mark the ballot — but what can I say, I’m an optimist.

Earlier this year when I was TAing Intro to Politics (POLI 100), I asked my students to make a case for voting or apple pie (for some reason, baking an apple pie was the proposed alternative to voting). Though the apple pie side won by a sugary/tart landslide, this niggling feeling was left in the pit of my stomach. As a young person (a whopping 23 in May) with a fairly sound education and more than one fearsome political debate under my belt, don’t I have some obligation to at least CONSIDER going to the polls?

A few things swayed me in that direction: my parents vote so it was convenient to walk up to the church with my dad who will also be away on election day, I am an inordinately proud Canadian citizen and like the idea of cementing that citizenship by exercising my democratic rights, and I didn’t have any apples in the pantry. Bottom line, if any of the above facts are true for you – head out on May 2nd and get your vote on! If I failed to convince you, maybe this will do the trick:

Leave a Reply

