Happiness or, “Why I ate strawberries, cream, and a croissant for lunch”

In my opinion, few things are more likely to lead to a moody, aggravated, and ill-tempered Lynn than shopping. Don’t get me wrong, I like owning things, occasionally I even like buying things, I just don’t like shopping for things.

I set out this morning with 2 goals in mind: (1) buy ingredients and necessary equipment to bake cupcakes for my upcoming birthday (ply people at work with baked goods and they will celebrate just about anything), and (2) check out some clothing stores in Copenhagen. The first objective met with great success – I found cup measures (i.e. US measurements which can be hard to find here) and a cupcake tray, and I even got 10% off at Magasin du Nord for being a foreigner (go Canada!).

Step 2 was a bit less successful. My back started hurting in a big way, I was dissapointed by how similar the Copenhagen shopping district is to the Grove in LA (perhaps where the Grove got its inspiration?), and I didn’t bother to try anything on. Now, you could rightly say that my poor attitude was to blame for my failure and subsequent grumpiness; however, I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to deal with shopping for clothes. Accordingly, I did what I usually do when I get annoyed, I went looking for food.

Which brings us to my current state. Tea in hand, croissant in mouth, strawberries and fresh cream sitting tauntingly to the side of my keyboard. I am happy, excited for a little R&R after a busy work week, and generally in a state of food-bliss.

Hope you find your own slice of happiness today!

Leave a Reply

