Om Nom Nom – Store Bededag Edition

day is an old Danish religious holiday – Store Bededag (which Google Translate magically transforms into “Great Prayer Day”. Allegedly, King Christian V consolidated a number of minor and local prayer days into one grand shebang. In a classic Danish move, everything is closed today and I was left with whatever was in the fridge for lunch. Note: stores close early in Denmark and are rarely open on Sundays, this means that a lot of my meals here are comprised of “whatever is in the fridge”.

So for lunch today I made white asparagus (which I bought on an impulse yesterday) and enjoyed it with assorted charcuterie (an ode to my brother who told me that I was letting down the H family legacy by excluding meat products from my recipes.

How I Cook White Asparagus: Simple, Quick, Yummy

1) Peel the Asparagus – Come on, you’re smart. You don’t need specifics on how to peel asparagus.

2) Chop off about 1/4 to 1/2 inch from the bottom to get rid of the icky fibrous bits.

3) Place in simmering water (even better if you put salt, pepper, and a pinch of sugar in the water).

4) Boil  4-10 minutes until they reach the desired tenderness. Season lightly with salt and pepper.

I also decided to whip up some “Mathematical Cupcakes” named so (as of about 2 seconds ago) because their ingredients are a wonder of mathematics:

4+3+2+1 :: 4 eggs, 3 cups of flour, 2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of butter

4x2x3x1 :: 24 Cupcakes

4…3…2…1… a countdown to yummy

(note: recipe also includes 1 cup of  water or milk, 1 tsp of salt, and 1.5 tsp of baking powder. 350C or 175F for 20-25 mins)

Here are some photos of my mini-feast.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

