In the Green

A few years ago I took the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) and came out all A’s… that is, solidly A-Type. A big part of this was J (Judgement) vs. P (Perception) on which I was a strong J. This should surprise no-one. I make lists like they are going out of style, I type and colour code my clothing, I paint my nails according to a complex algorithm (mood, weather, perceived success etc.), and I am unabashedly obsessed with excel (mmm… spreadsheets.

Thus the subject of this blog post… my big, sexy, graduate application centric excel table which is now “in the green”. This means that 5 out of 12 applications are 100% done. Application submitted and paid for, letters of rec in, GRE scores and transcripts confirmed. Accordingly, my cover sheet is being transformed from a page of red (DO THIS NOW)’s into a green (TIME TO START…WAITING)’s.

And that is just what I intend to do. Wait. And wait. And wait some more. Anyone who has ever applied to graduate programs before (and I have) knows that these coming months can be some of the most agonizing of your young life. That being said, nothing compares with the 2 month long panic attack that is/will be March and February. So, if you want to know if I have gotten into graduate school, wait until February and keep your ears open for Eliott Smith, your eyes open for mourning wear and black eyeliner, and your heart open to waves of pure misery. On the other hand, you could also wait for Febuary and keep your ears open for Hannah Georgas and Josh Ritter, your eyes open for bright whites and pinks and red lipstick, and your heart open to shiny happy Lynn.

Until then… let the waiting commence.

Beautiful things make time pass faster so…

CHRISTMAS TREE ORNAMENT ON HAND-CUT TREE, SATURNA ISLAND, BC

LIWONDE NATIONAL PARK FROM THE FAR SIDE OF THE SHIRE RIVER, MALAWI

RAGING RAPIDS IN BOAT PASS, WINTER COVE, SATURNA ISLAND, BC

ARBUTUS TREE IN WINTER COVE, SATURNA ISLAND, BC

TOTEM POLES IN THE MUSEUM OF ANTHROPOLOGY (ON TRADITIONAL MUSQUEUM FIRST NATIONS LAND), VANCOUVER, BC

FIRST NATIONS CEDAR ART AT THE MUSEUM OF ANTHROPOLOGY, VANCOUVER, BC

One response to “In the Green

  1. Pingback: Santa has matured but my parents still spoil me, or how to enjoy christmas without moving a muscle and then moving several | Academic Progress Goes "Clunk"·

Leave a Reply

