Jeremy?.. Hillary?.. Boob?… Ph.D.?

My favourite scene from a classic movie that I probably should not have watched when I was a little kid… bless my dad for allowing me to! Anyways, I have decided that Jeremy has been my inner voice throughout the grad school application proceedure.

WHAT WAS SAID (yeah… I did this instead of reading an article)

He’s probably one of the nothings.

Well at least that’s something.

Let’s show him our motor.

Steady on. You don’t want to show your motor to just anybody.

But this is a nobody.

Medic, pedic, zed oblique, orphic, morphic, dorphic, Greek. Ad hoc, ad loc and quid pro quo. So little time, so much to know.

Can you tell us where we’re at?

A true Socratic query, that.

And who the Billy Shears are you?

Who? Who indeed am l?

Jeremy?

Hillary?

Boob?

Ph.D.?

Who?

Eminent physicist, polyglot, classicist, prize-winning botanist, hard biting satirist, talented pianist, good dentist, too!

Lousy poet.

Critic’s voice, take your choice.

Must be one of them angry young men.

Or a daffy old creep.

I, daffy old creep.

Do you speak English?

Old English, middle, a dialect, pure…

Well, do you speak English?

You know, I’m not sure.

He’s so smart, he doesn’t even remember what he knows.

Why don’t we show him our motor?

Should we really… show him our motor?

He may not have seen one before.

Turbo-prop, super-combustible spring. Metrocyclonic and stereophonic, this motor, I see, has a broken down thing.

He fixed it.

He fixed it?

Great. Let’s go.

I must complete my bust, two novels, finish my blueprints, begin my beguine.

Must you always talk in rhyme?

If I spoke prose, you’d all find out, I don’t know what I talk about. Ad hoc, ad loc and quid pro quo. So little time, so much to know.

Hey, fellas. Look.

The footnotes for my 19th book. This is my standard procedure for doing it. And while I compose it, I’m also reviewing it.

A boob for all seasons.

How can he lose?

Were your notices good ?

It’s my policy never to read my reviews.

There must be a word for what he is.

He’s a real NOWHERE MAN (song begins)

Okay, men, all aboard. Let’s go somewhere.

What about him?

He’s happy enough going around in circles.

Poor little fella.

One response to “Jeremy?.. Hillary?.. Boob?… Ph.D.?

  1. I am glad you thank your dad for that. I presented my daugher with a DVD of “Yellow Submarine” for her second birthday a few months ago and she has watched the film a hundred times, and she loves it. She calls Jeremy “el mono” (the monkey in Spanish). The little knowledgeable monkey is certainly one of her favourite characters … And it is certainly more educational than many silly kids’ cartoons around

Leave a Reply

