BCMC (The Grouse Grind’s lesser known cousin)

Encouraged by the cool weather (and my love of the great outdoors), A and I decided to hike up Grouse Mountain today. Despite living in Vancouver most of my life, I haven’t done the Grind more than 10 times because I find the number of people who hit the trail on a daily basis a bit overwhelming. I even prefer the Stawamus Chief  which is comparably difficult but less over-crowded. Anyways, the Grind is a well known Vancouver Tourism tradition so I decided to (sort of) make an exception. Instead of the largely man-made Grind trail, we went for the more natural BCMC which branches off the Baden Powell trail and goes up to the top of Grouse about 50-100m to the right of the Grind. Here are some pics from our adventure (which was capped off with lunch and pie at the always yummy Savary Island Pie Company). There are also a few photos from English Bay and elsewhere in the city.

English Bay

English Bay

Fun with fish eye view

Fun with fish eye view

the city & maritime museum dock

the city & maritime museum dock

me

me

happy me

happy me

bear on top of Grouse

bear on top of Grouse

bear beauty shot

bear beauty shot

bear goes for a bubble bath

bear goes for a bubble bath

A on the chair lift in my new jacket

A on the chair lift in my new jacket

view from the top - cloudy but magical

view from the top – cloudy but magical

heading back down the chair lift

heading back down the chair lift

our trail to the top - about 800m vertical climb

our trail to the top – about 800m vertical climb

me and a mountain man

me and a mountain man

A with an eagle

A with an eagle

the eagle on its own

the eagle on its own

lumberjack show

lumberjack show

more bears

more bears

me and the bear

me and the bear

A and the bear

A and the bear

gondola fish eye

gondola fish eye

me and a goat

me and a goat

CRAB WILL DOMINATE! @ the planitarium

CRAB WILL DOMINATE! @ the planitarium

me doing a crab dance

me doing a crab dance

Bard on the Beach

Bard on the Beach

A at dinner

A at dinner

me at dinner

me at dinner

One response to “BCMC (The Grouse Grind’s lesser known cousin)

Leave a Reply

